To listen to a complete general midi version click here:
Nun Seid ihr Wohl Gerochen - Soundcloud


10125 - Nun Seid ihr Wohl Gerochen

Christmas Oratorio

arranged for 10-piece brass ensemble by Roger Harvey

Difficulty: Advanced

Price: £25.00

Programme note:

The Christmas Oratorio, Weinachts-Oratorium, BWV 248 was written in 1734 and actually consists of 6 cantatas, 3 for performance on Christmas Day, December 26 and 27th and the others for New Years Day, and Epiphany. They were not all newly composed but depend heavily, in the manner of the time, on the reworking of earlier pieces with new texts. This chorus, the final section of the 6th cantata, is a choral prelude, the obligato trumpet providing a joyful counter-melody to a Lutheran choral. Now vengeance hath been taken On all the foes of man, And Christ doth end in triumph The conflict He began. Sin, Death, and Hell, and Satan, Their mighty Victor own; And Man doth stand forgiven Before His Fatherís throne.

Performance note:

The parts for Trumpets 1 and 2 are best played on A piccolo trumpets. Trumpet 4 is a flugel. The style should remain very light and rhythmic throughout, apart from the cantabile of the chorale theme. The lower parts, in particular should never be heavy; keep at a light dynamic, even when marked forte. During the appearance of the chorale melody all other parts should remain sotto voce and leggiero.